Leaping across the chasm

Today I’m doing structural edits. Actually it’s probably better to say I’m struggling with structural edits. So what are they? A structural edit is when the editor looks at your novel as a whole and suggests improvements with the story arc and character development. He/She does not make the changes for the author but suggests ways the story could be …

How do you find time to write?

A common question authors are asked is, “How do you find time to write?” Many people can’t fathom how we can write a novel with everything else that goes on in our lives. My answer to this question is, I make time to write. When I first began writing I was working full-time, and I wondered whether I would ever actually …

Promo – Nina Blake: His Forgotten Wife

Today’s promo spot goes to Nina Blake who really is quite interesting. Here are some fun facts about her: She has a second degree black belt in kickboxingShe didn’t learn to speak English until she went to schoolShe has an honours degree in philosophy – just don’t ask her why! Buy LinksAmazon (AU)Amazon (US) Claire and Stefan’s marriage was over. They’d …

GoodReads Giveaway

Today I wanted to let you know about the GoodReads Giveaway I’m running. It runs until 29th June 2015 and you have a chance to win an autographed copy of All that Sparkles. To win all you need to do is click on the Enter Giveaway button in the below widget. Goodreads Book Giveaway All That Sparkles by Claire Boston Giveaway …

Getting Crafty

I love a good craft project. It feels like ages since I’ve actually done anything crafty (though my husband reminded me of all the bookmarks I made up for promoting All that Sparkles recently!) Anyway I decided it was time I revamped my office. I spend at least eight hours in this room every day so it should be a …

Promo – Helen Rolfe: The Friendship Tree

Helen Rolfe is my guest for today’s promo spot. While she’s from the UK, she spent fourteen years living in Australia which I think gives her the ability to write an Australian set story with authenticity. Check out her book, The Friendship Tree, below. Is running away ever the answer? Tamara Harding left the UK to join family in Australia, …

Cover Reveal – Under the Covers

Under the Covers Cover

I have my cover for Book 3 of The Texan Quartet – Under the Covers! I love it so much. Who can resist a sexy man reading a book? Not me! A few of you have been asking for George Jones’ story, well this is it. Only a couple more months to wait. Under the Covers will be released 13th …

6 Questions Not to Ask a Romance Author

I’m sure with any job there are questions that people frequently ask. A police officer may get asked, “Have you shot anyone?” or a nurse may be asked, “Have you ever been vomited on?”: there are questions that others not working in the industry are curious (and maybe slightly ignorant) about. It’s the same with authors. “Where do you get …

I’ll just finish this…. aka the time void that is Minecraft

It’s confession time. I’m a closet obsessive computer game nerd. I generally don’t play a lot of games because I know if I start a game, I’ll be obsessive about it until I finish it – which means time has no meaning and I forget to do a lot of things. I first noticed this issue in the late 90s …

Promo – Tess Woods: Love At First Flight

Love at First Flight Cover

Tess Woods is an author from my neck of the woods in Western Australia. This is her first novel published with HarperCollins.   A family is threatened by an irresistible attraction in this compelling debut that will appeal to fans of Liane Moriarty and Anita Shreve. Looking back on it now, I can see it was instant. The second we …